17 Aug 13 update – A peek into the Manga Downloader Project


And before you think, “Why is this crazy girl bothering with such a project”… well hey, to each her own! Like I said in my previous post, Developing a project of one’s own: Manga Downloader, I started with this project with just my convenience in my mind. Hence the logic is not really universally applicable, it’s just a tool for me right now when my internet speed sucks.

Let’s take a look at the extremely unattractive and utilitarian prototype Downloader and how it currently works:

First of all I need to launch the .jar file from command prompt:

cmd1

This launches the GUI interface of my downloader:

manga1

What I need next is the url of the first image, and the number of pages that chapter possesses. For that purpose I first have to go to the manga hosting site (let’s go with MangaFox for now):

From the mangafox page we get two values: the total number of pages (highlighted in red), and the link to first image.

mf1

Then we open the image in a new tab to verify the underlying theory behind my prototype: that the image is of the form “pageNumber.extension”

mf2

In the above case, it IS true. So I copy the url in the address bar, and the number of pages, into my Downloader and hit submit. As the download progresses, I know exactly which page is being downloaded, in the Status area.

dwld1

And when all’s done, I simply get the message  – “Downloaded” in my status.

dwld2

After the download is over, all the images can be found in the download location:

cmplt

So far, it’s been working okay. But often, I hit snags such as credit pages which do NOT come in the “pagenumber.extension” form. In those cases I have to “fast-forward” a couple of pages to determine the naming convention of that chapter and then enter the URL in the Downloader – which defeats the purpose of building it (i.e. to avoid surfing through the manga hosting sites as much as possible.

So my next short-term goal is to figure out how to circumvent this problem. That’s it for now, I’ll come up with the next update on this project next week!

 

One thought on “17 Aug 13 update – A peek into the Manga Downloader Project

  1. […] where you’ve stored the application (you may want to take a look at the previous post  A Peek into the Manga Downloader Project for a more detailed explanation regarding how you do […]

A penny for your thoughts...

