Let’s go on a topic hunt


It’s that time of the undergrad course. Oh yes, the pre-final semester of my 4-year course when I must prepare for campus, sit for multiple national level examinations like CAT and GATE (and international level ones like GRE and GMAT if interested), and still cope with the current semester’s curriculum and hold my own in the end-sem exams. AND work on a project that will ultimately account for 10 whole credits. Can somebody just kill me?

So according to the Department of Computer Science and Technology of my college CETB, we are supposed to work on a research based project as a team, and each team may consist of at most 2 members. Which is an elegantly alternative way of stating – “let’s have fun watching them squirm and burn!” I mean, I don’t mind the research-based project thing but dividing the workload among just 2 people? It sounds exhausting even before it begins, all the more especially because my friends in the Department of Information Technology can form teams of 4. Yay for us.

Well it can’t be helped – after all this isn’t some major injustice applied just to me. So the current status is – we have formed our groups (my buddy Shruti and I partnered up). We chose a generic area of interest and were assigned guides by the department. What comes next, is what’s important.

WHAT THE HELL DO WE ” DO RESEARCH” ON?

Till now, I don’t even have any particular affinity or inclination to any of the wide range of fields waiting out there – especially since I hardly know anything about them. Then only I would try and find some problem to fix, right? So yes, this is my chance to really explore what options I have before I go anywhere further.

So here I go on an area hunt, before I topic hunt… Here’s to good luck!

2 thoughts on “Let’s go on a topic hunt

  1. Google scholar and Citeseer are your new best friends 🙂

A penny for your thoughts...

